LGBT Asylum Stories in United states

Uganda is home
By Victor Mukasa

Victor J. Mukasa is a Human Rights Defender, Researcher and International Advisor on African Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Intersex (LGBTI) Issues.

In the past, I said I would never seek asylum in my life. I thought it would be cowardly to leave my home. I am a transgender-identifying individual and a founding director of Sexual Minorities Uganda.

When my friend David Kato was killed, I started to smell death. I felt that my death was close, and I decided I was not ready to die. I was not ready for my daughter to grow up as an orphan. It was time for me to leave, in order to save my life.

I planned my exit to the United States. When I got here, I wasn’t sure where I was going to sleep. I wasn’t sure what I was going to eat. How could I have found a lawyer, and how could I have paid them?

Immigration Equality became my family at that point. Through their LGBT asylum program, they found me a lawyer, for free, and helped me to win asylum.

When they asked me to be in a video about their asylum program, I said: of course. Imagine if there were no group like Immigration Equality. I don’t know where I would be.

It is tough work, the struggle to liberate ourselves as LGBTI people in Africa. But I can serve the struggle in Africa better now that I am safe.

Source: http://immigrationequality.org/2013/10/uganda-is-home/

 

Posted on October 10, 2013, in African LGBTI News, LGBT Refugees and Asylum stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

